SPECTACLE

Photobooks

I have recently created two photo books, both called Spectacle, for one of my university units. The project was a collaboration between myself, two designers and two models. The first book featured honeycomb-inspired 3D lighting designs by Theresa Kitching who recently graduated from Manchester School of Art. I wanted to merge fashion and sculptural art by focusing on the pieces which are presented as clothing in an Avant Garde style, to explore the limitations of fashion and how we wear items.

The second photobook features a puffa coat designed by Ella Kenneally, who is also a student at Manchester School of Art. The coat was dressed with uncut fabrics of neutral tones essentially masking the model’s identity or blending in with her hair and skin tone.  This book exhibits experimental fashion by displaying the simplicity of fabrics, the colour, the texture and the form, exploring how we wear items.

I think this project is just the beginning of my exploration of experimental fashion photography and styling. I aim to experiment further with the idea of everyday fashion by using alternative analogue techniques and processes.

Leave a comment